Homeland Security and Emergency Services

New York State Disaster Preparedness Commission

New York State
Disaster Preparedness Commission

Comprised of the commissioners, directors or chairpersons of 29 State agencies and one volunteer organization - the American Red Cross - the responsibilities of the Disaster Preparedness Commission (DPC) include: the preparation of State disaster plans; the direction of State disaster operations and coordinating those with local government operations; and the coordination of federal, State and private recovery efforts.

New York State Executive Law, Article 2-B, enacted in 1978, shifted emphasis from Civil Defense to all-hazards preparedness activities and missions; created the Disaster Preparedness Commission; and assigned responsibility for off-site radiological emergency preparedness for commercial nuclear power plants.

DPC Member Agencies