Homeland Security and Emergency Services

Emergency Management Certification and Training (EMC & T) Refresher Training

The Emergency Management Certification and Training (EMC & T) program has been developed to support the State’s strategy of creating unified emergency management training, education, communication, and response protocols.

The training is intended for those with a role in emergency management or disaster response in New York State. DHSES has developed three tiers of training tailored to specific roles.

  • County Chief Executives (Tier 1)
  • County Emergency Managers (Tier 2)
  • Local Public Officials, First Responder Leadership and Other Partners (Tier 3)

In addition to the initial Tier 1 training for County Chief Executives and the Tier 2 training for County Emergency Managers, County Chief Executives and County Emergency Managers must also complete annual refresher training for their Counties to remain eligible for grant funding administered by the New York State Division of Homeland Security and Emergency Services (DHSES).

The annual refresher requirement can be met through the completion of an on-line training made up of the six (6) modules below. All modules must be completed to receive the refresher credit and the completion form at the end of module 6 must be sent to:


Issues with the training and/or any questions can also be sent to that email address. More information on the EMC & T program, to include information on other options to meet the refresher requirement, can be found on the DHSES website at the link below:


EMC & T Refresher Training Modules

  1. Module 1
  2. Module 2
  3. Module 3
  4. Module 4
  5. Module 5
  6. Module 6