Emergency Management Accreditation Program (EMAP)

Emergency Management Accreditation Program (EMAP) is an independent non-profit organization, fosters excellence and accountability in emergency management and homeland security programs, by establishing credible standards applied in a peer review accreditation process.

Learn More

Emergency Management Assistance Compact (EMAC)

EMAC offers assistance during governor-declared states of emergency or disaster through a responsive, straightforward system that allows states to send personnel, equipment, and commodities to assist with response and recovery efforts in other states. Through EMAC states can also transfer services (such as shipping newborn blood from a disaster-impacted lab to a lab in another state) and conduct virtual missions (such as GIS mapping).


Learn More


FEMA's mission is helping people before, during and after disasters. FEMA's core values and guiding principles help to achieve these goals. FEMA's employs more than 20,000 people nationwide. The headquartered is in Washington, D.C., with 10 regional offices located across the country. FEMA leverage a tremendous capacity to coordinate within the federal government to make sure America is equipped to prepare for and respond to disasters.

Learn More

FEMA Emergency Management Institute Independent Study Courses

The Emergency Management Institute (EMI) offers self-paced courses designed for people who have emergency management responsibilities and the general public. All are offered free-of-charge to those who qualify for enrollment.

Learn more


FEMA Region 2 Webinars

FEMA frequently offers webinars in various discipline open to the public.

Learn More 

Homeland Security Presidential Directive 5

The purpose of this directive, which was issued on Feb. 28, 2003, is to enhance the ability of the United States to manage domestic incidents by establishing a single, comprehensive national incident management system.

Learn More

Incident Management Teams

All-Hazard Incident Management Teams (AHIMT) play an essential role in the management of, and response to, local/regional/national emergencies, natural disasters and public events.

An AHIMT is a comprehensive resource (a team) to either enhance ongoing operations through provision of infrastructure support, or when requested, transition to an incident management function to include all components/functions of a Command and General Staff.

National Preparedness Goal

The National Preparedness Goal is the first deliverable required under Presidential Policy Directive (PPD) 8: National Preparedness. The National Preparedness Goal sets the vision for preparedness nationwide and identifies the core capabilities and capability targets necessary to achieve that vision across the five mission areas: prevention, protection, mitigation, response and recovery.

Learn More


This directive is aimed at strengthening the security and resilience of the United States through systematic preparation for the threats that pose the greatest risk to the security of the Nation, including acts of terrorism, cyber attacks, pandemics, and catastrophic natural disasters.

Presidential Policy Directive (PPD) 8: National Preparedness

Ready Disaster & Emergency Preparation

Stafford Disaster Relief and Emergency Assistance Act (Stafford Act)

Robert T. Stafford Disaster Relief and Emergency Assistance Act, PL 100-707, signed into law November 23, 1988; amended the Disaster Relief Act of 1974, PL 93-288.

This Act constitutes the statutory authority for most Federal disaster response activities especially as they pertain to FEMA and FEMA programs.

Learn More

SARA Title III/Tier II Reporting

Authorized by Title III of the Superfund Amendments and Reauthorization Act (SARA), the Emergency Planning & Community Right-to-Know Act (EPCRA) was enacted by Congress as the national legislation on community safety. This law is designed to help local communities protect public health, safety, and the environment from chemical hazards.

Learn More