Radiological Preparedness Documents and Links


The Radiological Emergency Preparedness Program coordinates with State agencies, counties, and fixed nuclear facilities to ensure the safety of New York State residents.

Radiological Hazards Annex for Fixed Nuclear Facilities

The purpose of the New York State Radiological Hazards Annex for Fixed Nuclear Facilities is to minimize the health risk of the State's residents in the event of a radiological emergency – an accident at a nuclear power plant that may result in the loss of control of a radiation source.  Please note that the Plan is redacted for the public.

Other State Resources


    Radiological Emergency Preparedness for the Agriculture Community

    This booklet is provided to inform the agricultural community about protective actions that may need to be taken if a radiological emergency occurs at a fixed nuclear facility within New York State or in a neighboring state or province. This booklet also contains information on how individuals would be notified and what procedures people may be asked to follow.



Nuclear Facilities

There are four commercially licensed fixed site nuclear power plants in New York State that contain six nuclear reactors. The sites are located at Indian Point in Westchester County; Nine Mile Point and James A. FitzPatrick in Oswego County; and Robert E. Ginna in Wayne County.

The New York State Radiological Emergency Preparedness Program assists counties to meet public health and safety concerns of those living within the 10-mile emergency planning zones.

Details on local planning efforts for radiological preparedness can be found on the following county websites:

Emergency Planning Booklets