State and Local Consortium Interoperability


New York State counties continue to expand their participation in regional partnerships and formalize their governance and operating procedures.  Communication consortiums are not static; geographic boundaries of consortiums and participation are fluid and dependent on many factors, such as geographical locations, already developed agreements, and other factors.

Regional solutions for cross-jurisdictional communication are underway around New York State. Best practices and models among these jurisdictions can be incorporated within the strategic and tactical communications plans throughout the State. This is aimed at the single goal of achieving interoperable communications on a larger scale, and at the same time realizing expanded coverage for first responders.

Regional Interoperable Communications Consortiums

Adirondack Regional Interoperable Communications Consortium
Chairman: Glen Gosnell, Washington County
Counties: Albany, Clinton, Essex, Franklin, Fulton, Hamilton, Herkimer, Montgomery, Rensselaer, Saratoga, Schenectady, St. Lawrence, Warren, Washington

Capital Region Urban Area Working Group
Chairman: Kevin Spawn, Schenectady County
Counties: Albany, Rensselaer, Saratoga, Schenectady, Schoharie

Catskill Interoperable Communications Consortium
Chairman: Alex Rau, Sullivan County
Counties: Columbia, Delaware, Dutchess, Greene, Otsego, Putnam, Schoharie, Sullivan, Ulster

Central New York Interoperable Communications Consortium
Chairman: Joseph Plummer, Jefferson County
Counties: Broome, Cayuga, Cortland, Jefferson, Lewis, Madison, Oneida, Onondaga, Oswego, St. Lawrence

Finger Lakes Region New York Interoperable Communications Consortium
Chairman: Steve DeChick, Ontario County
Counties: Allegany, Chemung, Genesee, Livingston, Monroe, Ontario, Orleans, Seneca, Schuyler, Steuben, Wayne, Wyoming, Yates

Hudson Valley Interoperable Communications Consortium
Chairman: Dana Smith, Dutchess County
Counties: Columbia, Dutchess, Orange, Putnam, Rockland, Sullivan, Ulster, Westchester

New York City Interagency Communications Consortium
Co-Chairman: Donald Torchon and Wes Doskocil
Counties: Nassau, Suffolk, Westchester, and five counties in NYC

Southern Tier East Regional Emergency Service Interoperable Communications Alliance
Chairman: Matthew Beckwith, Chenango County
Counties: Broome, Chenango, Cortland, Delaware, Otsego, Tioga, Tompkins

Western New York Interoperable Communications Consortium
Chairman: Kevin Hughes, Erie County
Counties: Allegany, Cattaraugus, Chautauqua, Erie, Genesee, Niagara, Orleans, Wyoming

Annual Symposiums

2024 NYS DHSES-OIEC Communications Consortium Symposium & NYS 911 Coordinators Conference

The New York State Division of Homeland Security and Emergency Services' Office of Interoperable and Emergency Communications is excited to announce its annual Communications Consortium Symposium to be held April 29 - May 2, 2024.

This event is a combined effort of DHSES-OIEC and the NYS 911 Coordinators Association.

The location for this event is the High Peaks Resort, 2384 Saranac Ave, Lake Placid, NY 12946.

Registration information will be distributed by March 1, 2024.


The 2023 NYS DHSES-OIEC Communications Consortium Symposium & NYS 911 Coordinators Conference took place from May 1-4, 2023.


In 2015, New York State deployed Mutualink, an interoperability and collaboration program, to all counties across the State.  The deployment of Mutualink made emergency incident collaboration technology available to all counties at no charge. By using this technology, key officials and centers in your County are able to share radio, video and other information with each other, other counties and the State.