State Interoperable and Emergency Communication (SIEC) Board


The 25 member State Interoperable and Emergency Communication (SIEC) Board is comprised of state agency heads, state legislative representatives, representatives of first responder organizations and experts in the field of interoperable and emergency communications. Members are appointed for a term of four years.

The SIEC Board is charged with the following duties:

  • Make recommendations to the Commissioner of the Division of Homeland Security and Emergency Services on the expenditure of grants and other funding programs related to interoperable and emergency communications.
  • Make recommendations related to the development, coordination and implementation of policies, plans, standards, programs and services related to interoperable and emergency communications, including but not limited to ensuring compliance with Federal mandates for interoperable communications and compatibility with the national incident management system.
  • Establish structures and guidelines to maintain interoperable communications planning and coordination at the statewide level.
  • Establish, promulgate and revise standards for the operation of public safety answering points.
  • Establish guidelines regarding the creation of regionally based radio communications systems compatible with the structures and guidelines consistent with federal mandates and best practices.

New York State County Law, Article 6-A, Section 326, created the SIEC Board within the Division of Homeland Security and Emergency Services (pursuant to Chapter 56 of the Laws of 2010). 

Board Membership


Mark Balistreri, Director of the Office of Interoperable & Emergency Communications


Executive Appointees:     

Brian LaFlure, Warren County, Retired Director/Fire Coordinator

Allen Turner, Orleans County, Communications Coordinator

Michael Volk, Westchester County, Communications Coordinator

Michael Cerretto, City of Rochester, Director Emergency Communications

Total: 7, 4 Filled/3 Vacant


Senate Appointees:         

Richard Andersen, Suffolk County, Retired Law Enforcement

Juan Figueroa, Ulster County, Sheriff

Total: 5, 2 Filled/3 Vacant


Assembly Appointees:     

Kimberly Beaty, Buffalo, Law Enforcement

Anthony J. Tripp, Glen Cove, Private Sector

Total: 5, 2 Filled/3 Vacant


State Agencies Ex-Officio Members (or their designees): 

Commissioner Jackie Bray                                              Division of Homeland Security and Emergency Services

Commissioner Rossana Rosado                                      Division of Criminal Justice Services

Major General Raymond Shields, Jr.                               Division of Military and Naval Affairs

Commissioner Marie Therese Dominguez                     Department of Transportation

Acting Commissioner James McDonald                         Department of Health

Acting Superintendent Steven A. Nigrelli                       Division of State Police

Acting Chief Information Officer Jennifer Lorenz          NYS Office of Information Technology Services

Total: 7

Board Meetings

Upcoming Meetings:


  • Date: October 25, 2023
  • Time: 10:00 AM - 12:00 PM
  • Location: 1220 Washington Ave, State Office Campus, Building 7A, Albany, NY 12242 - First Floor Training Room


Past Meetings:























Bylaws and Annual Reports